About the IITM Energy Summit

The 3-day technical summit introducing IIT Madras as an Institute of Eminence, showcasing technologies and enabling dialogues on climate action in India and the world. Panel discussions and interactive audience sessions will be conducted, to provide ample opportunities for attendees to learn, ruminate, share perspectives, and get insights into the vibrant research atmosphere at IIT Madras.

Further details..

  • The inaugural day features prominent key-note speakers from government, industry, and academia. The deliberations are in the form of moderated discussions among panelists comprising accomplished members from relevant industry verticals and IIT Madras faculty.

  • “What are the challenges to achieve 100% Renewables?”
    “What are potential choices of technology and avenues of research for storage incorporating earth abundant and renewable resources?”
    “What roadblocks are presented in energy transition challenges in hard to abate sectors?”
    “How to align with sustainable development goals for the future?”

  • Leading experts will debate these questions and more, in well-curated and audience interactive sessions.

  • Participants can expect to receive a 360-degree view of the state-of-the-art and a sneak peek into exciting future directions in energy technology. The summit will position the IIT Madras Energy Consortium as a premier forum to identify the priorities for research and technology development in collaboration with Industry Partners.

  14-16 December 2021
  6:00-10:00 PM (virtual), 4:00-10:00 PM (in-person)
  IIT Madras Research Park

IITM Energy Summit

Get set go

Keynote Speakers

Prof. Raghunathan

Dean Global Engagement
IIT Madras

Prof. K VijayRaghavan

Principal Scientific Adviser to the Government of India

Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala

IITM Research Park

Ms. Sarah Kirlew

Australian Consul General

Dr Praveer Sinha

Tata Power

Dr Ashok Krishna

CTO Energy Internet Corporation
Former VP, Chevron



IITM Alumni
Aravind Kumar Chandiran Seshan Rammohan
Preeti Aghalayam Sriram Krishnan
Rajnish Kumar Ram Narayanamurthy
Satyanarayanan Seshadri Vikram Rao
Dr. Nikhil Tambe Vasu Guruswamy
Ashok Krishna


Start up

Day 1
Day 1

14th December 2021| Introducing IITM Energy Consortium

Session 1: (6:30 - 8:00 pm)

Topics Speaker
IITM as an Institute of Eminence Prof. Raghunathan Rengaswamy, Dean Global Engagement, IIT Madras
Energy for Aatmanirbhar India Prof. K. VijayRaghavan, PSA to GOI
100% RE, where do we start? Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala, President, IITM Research Park
Indo-Australia partnership for a carbon neutral world Ms. Sarah Kirlew, Australian Consul General, Chennai
Power generation sector needs for the future energy grid Dr Praveer Sinha, MD Tata Power
Outlook and the future of Oil and Gas Dr Ashok Krishna, CTO, Energy Internet Corporation, Former VP, Chevron
The IITM Energy Consortium Dr. Nikhil Tambe, CEO - IITM Energy Consortium

Break: (8:00 - 8:30 pm)

Session 2: (8:30 - 10:00 pm)
Addressing grand challenges in Energy – A consortium approach.
Moderator: A moderated panel discussion by Dr. Vikram Rao, RTI International

Day 2
Day 2

15th December 2021| Renewable Energy Integration

Session 1: (6:00 - 7:30 pm)
Renewable Energy Systems and Storage
Moderator: Mr. Anson Sando (IITMRP)
Speakers: Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala, Prof. Kothandaraman Ramanujam, Dr. Ganesh Das, Mux Narasimhan, and Dr. Ashok Krishna

Break: (7:30 - 8:00 pm)

Session 2: (8:00 - 9:30 pm)
Improving Access to Affordable Energy and Local Energy Communities
Moderator: Ram Narayanamurthy (EPRI)
Speakers: Prof. Krishna Vasudevan, Prof. A. Mani, Mr. Pashupathy Gopalan, and Mr. Ravin Mirchandani

Wrap up: (9:30 - 9:40 pm)
Dr Nikhil Tambe, CEO, IITM Energy Consortium

Day 3
Day 3

16th December 2021| Handling hard to abate sectors

Session 1: (6:00 - 7:30 pm)
CO2 Sequestration and Non-conventional Utilization pathways
Moderator: Prof. Preeti Aghalayam
Speakers: Prof. Rajnish Kumar, Prof. Swapna Singha Rabha, Prof. Aravind Kumar Chandiran, Dr. Bhima Sastry, Dr. Prakash Chavan, Mr. Prateek Bumb

Break: (7:30 - 8:00 pm)

Session 2: (8:00 - 9:30 pm)
Enabling Technologies for the renewable transition
Moderator: Prof. Satya Seshadri
Speakers: Prof. T. M. Muruganandam, Prof. R. Vinu, Prof. Deepak Rajagopal, Dr. Anuradda Ganesh, Mr. Vipul Tuli, Dr. Sriram Krishnan

Session 3: (9:30 - 9:40 pm)
Imagining partnerships for energy transitions - role of technology and policy cooperation
Mr. Sanjiva de Silva, Counsellor (Industry, Science,Energy and Resources), Australian High Commission, New Delhi

Summit wrap up: (9:40 - 10:00 pm)
Prof. Raghunathan Rengaswamy & Dr Vikram Rao

3 Days Agenda
Detailed Agenda

Contact us

Get in touch


Room No.204 A, 2nd Floor, IC & Sr Building Indian Institute of Technology Madras Chennai - 600 036, India

Please Email us for any queries